Author Topic: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.  (Read 3667 times)

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« on: September 09, 2008, 04:39:47 pm »
Hi I ran my Flier Match and fixed some bugs when I tested it:

Machine 1: Server
Machine 1: Client 1
Machine 1: Client 2

I had the ran well, but when I press alt+tab and changed from one OpenGL fullscreen client to the other I got an exceptio that it runs out of memory. I cant post the exception now becausse I forgot my pen drive at home.  :-[

It seems to be out of video memory becausse is not the typical message when running of of ram memory. I will post the exception tomorrow but I post this today becausse maybe someone has an idea anout how to fix it.
Nada por ahora

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 05:10:07 pm »
org.lwjgl.opengl.Util.OpenGlException: Out of Memory (1285)

« Last Edit: September 10, 2008, 05:12:09 pm by Melssj5 »
Nada por ahora

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 08:19:56 pm »
Yes, you are running out of video memory. The only time when i experienced something like this was on a PCI based GeForce8500GT that i'm using for testing from time to time. Anyway...are you calling dispose() on the used framebuffer? Is this the OpenGL- or the AWTGLRenderer?

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2008, 09:22:53 pm »
in on the OpenGL at fullscreen. I am not calling to dispose. I am not exiting my application. Just using alt+tab to change from one ogl fullscreen to another. I always did it without problems with my actual hardware.
Nada por ahora

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2008, 11:20:19 pm »
I see...is that an AGP based system? Maybe the AGP memory size configured in the BIOS is too small. Which graphics hardware is that?

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2008, 01:08:03 am »
yes its agp 4x, its a Fx 5600 of 128 MB!
Nada por ahora

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2008, 09:07:46 am »
Have you checked the AGP memory setting in the BIOS? Or maybe AGP texturing is disabled for some reason by the driver. Is this Windows or Linux?

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2008, 03:41:35 pm »
Windows XP, sp2.

I have not changed anything in the bios, and it never appeared the problem until now. I will check the bios tomorrow to check if that helps.
Nada por ahora

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2008, 04:08:04 pm »
On NVidia cards, you can enable a kind of NVidia Desktop Booster-Whatever-Thingy that eats memory for breakfast. You should check that too. Sadly, i forget the correct name of it, but i think you'll recognize it, if you see it.

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when changing from one ogl windows to another.
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2008, 05:11:59 pm »
mmm now that I remember I changed the driver with an older to be able to use some stereoscopic glases. Maybe thats the problem, I remove it and put another one after that but maybe is not the lastest driver. I will check that too.

BTW: JPCT looks too bad using stereo glasses!
Nada por ahora