Author Topic: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras  (Read 18894 times)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2009, 07:13:58 pm »
No, i don't have MAX and i have exporter that exports from MAX without MAX being installed. I haven't looked at your last file yet, because i'm feeling quite sick ATM...i'll do later.

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1526
    • View Profile
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2009, 09:49:40 pm »
Sorry about that, pal. Get better soon.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2009, 08:07:47 pm »
Ok, i've tried the new model that you've exported...still no camera, i.e no 0x4700 chunk in it. I can't write that method without a working file, because i have no clue what the values actually mean that the specs mention. I've to get them from the file and try to find out. If they are not in the file, i'm stuck... :(

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1526
    • View Profile
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2009, 12:31:02 am »
Is the following link to a PRJ file the same thing as a 3DS? It has both cameras and lights, and it looks like pretty much the same thing to me.

http://wolf359a.anet-stl.com/mesh/xwing.zip

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2009, 08:06:20 pm »
Is the following link to a PRJ file the same thing as a 3DS? It has both cameras and lights, and it looks like pretty much the same thing to me.
No, it's different. I've no idea what exactly is different, but i can't load it. Have you looked at the OBJ-format? Maybe that can hold camera information? It would be easier to deal with, because that format is actually ASCII based.

Offline fireside

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
    • View Profile
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2009, 12:23:56 am »
What about putting a cube where the camera is and then replacing it with the camera?  I have no idea if that would work or not.
click here->Fireside 7 Games<-

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1526
    • View Profile
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2009, 03:40:09 am »
As far as I can tell, the only file format supported by jPCT that stores camera data is 3ds. Give me until Saturday and I'll get PolyTrans so I can send you a model with the camera data. And thanks again.

Offline C3R14L.K1L4

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • CK's place of many works
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2009, 02:05:43 pm »
For what I've been playing around, 3ds stores more than one camera. I've created two files, the a3dring1.3ds has one camera (DefCamera & DefCamera.Target), and a3dring2.3ds has two (DefCamera & DefCamera.Target + DefCamera7 & DefCamera7.Target).

http://student.dei.uc.pt/~jcgonc/a3dring.rar
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 02:10:15 pm by C3R14L.K1L4 »

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2009, 02:50:54 pm »
Thank you for the files. I'll have a look at them...

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2009, 03:42:26 pm »
Ok...these files do contain camera information. However, i've no idea what to make from it. ring1 looks pretty good so far. I can extract the camera information and it is the same that DeepExploration (my 3ds viewer) prints out. But ring2 is different. I get two cameras from it. According to DeepExploration, they both have different positions and the same target. I get the target just fine for both, but my positions are completely different. For the first camera, i get 0,0,0, which is very strange IMHO. For the second position, i'm getting the same value as for ring1...which is not what i'm getting in DE. Looks like as if some kind of offset is applied silently, but no matter what i try to match it...it makes no sense to me.
In addition, i can read the fov just fine, but the angle (i assume it defines a rotation around the camera's axis or something) is always 1, which it obviously isn't. I'm reading the data according to the inofficial 3ds specs from AGP and it makes kind of sense, but something seems to be missing.

C3R14L.K1L4, can you tell me what the actual values for the camera in 3ds are? Maybe you can make a screen shot of the camera dialog (given that such thing exists and that it contains some numbers...).

 ??? ??? ???

Offline C3R14L.K1L4

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • CK's place of many works
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2009, 06:26:08 pm »
...Those cameras were added on DE...  ::)
I'm pretty sure the second ring's first camera is the same as the first ring, and what I'm seeing on DE is that all cameras of ring1 and ring2 are different. (I may be wrong, I'm quite tired...)
I don't have 3ds (and I don't know how to use it). I've checked with wings3d, it doesn't export camera information so I'll check with sketchup.

Just a question, if an object has multiple cameras, will be the "first" one be returned or will it get all of them (in a array or similar) ?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 10:36:42 pm by C3R14L.K1L4 »

Offline C3R14L.K1L4

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • CK's place of many works
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2009, 06:57:09 pm »
I've checked and sketchup generates multiple cameras from multiple pages. So I exported from sketchup, compared with the cameras on DE and they're the same (5 cameras)
http://student.dei.uc.pt/~jcgonc/Untitled.3ds
The camera's position values from DE are OK.

Edit: I've updated the file with cameras position on some of those triangle's vertices. If you need, I can build a cube with 8 cameras on each vertex  :P
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 06:12:58 pm by C3R14L.K1L4 »

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2009, 08:13:39 pm »
Just a question, if an object has multiple cameras, will be the "first" one be returned or will it get all of them (in a array or similar) ?
If i get it to work, then all of them...if not, then none... ;D The problem is, that i have no idea what those values that i'm reading from the file actually mean. Sometimes they match the DE data, sometimes they are totally different. Another thing that confuses me: When checking the data in DE, i get a position of, let's say, 10,-10,20 and a target of 10,0,-90. When clicking on the third tab in the camera's properties (i forgot the name of it), it tells me something about origin and target. What is that? Origin seems to be the camera's position. Target seems to be origin plus some offset but that offset has nothing to do with the actual camera's target...i don't get it... ???

Maybe a cube with cameras on the corners would be really helpful...

Offline C3R14L.K1L4

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • CK's place of many works
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2009, 10:33:37 pm »
Hum, the third tab on my DE is 'atributes' and appears empy for both cameras (Scene_x) and camera targets (Scene_x.target). The 'origin' and 'target' I found (which appear on the object tab, local coordinates) are the same for all the cameras.
For instance, for the 5th camera (scene_5) I get this on the summary page:
Code: [Select]
World Org : 74.644310,533.166260,21.352112
World Target Point: (-17.981171,-471.322479,21.352112),
Vector: (-0.091822,-0.995775,0.000000)
World Up Point:  (74.644310,533.166260,1030.102417),
Vector: (0.000000,0.000000,1.000000)
View X="95.2684"    Y="180"     Z="-180"
The only item I haven't understood is the 'View X'. It seems to change with rotations on the camera. ::)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11775
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Okino Website Claims 3DS Exports Cameras
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2009, 11:16:07 pm »
I'm using version 2.0 of DE...rather old, i suppose. When clicking on a camera, i have three tabs (Transformation, Camera, Information). Information is the one that makes me wonder...what i get there is something like this:

Code: [Select]
Cast Shadows
Receive Shadows
Org : 252.818,-452.969,218.479
Target : 252.818,-452.969,217.479
Up : 493.875,-359.19,762.933
Animation:
Position , 1 keys
time: 0.000000 pos(252.818100,-452.969116,218.479477)

Where Org is the camera's position as shown on the Transformation-tab. But what is Target? In this example, the actual target is 1.948273,-0.000000,-90.091202...this has absolutely nothing to do with the value above!? And what kind of up-vector is that? Shouldn't an up-vector be normalized? It's quite confusing...