Author Topic: Bug in World.renderScene()?  (Read 3382 times)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11748
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2010, 01:04:42 pm »
Interesting...that shouldn't be possible (i know that it is, i've checked the code). There once was some code to avoid this, but it seems to be gone. I just don't know if by accident or on purpose...

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11748
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2010, 10:41:19 pm »
Has this problem been solved now?

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1518
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2010, 07:50:37 pm »
Sorry, I didn't notice you had posted again: no, it hasn't. When I get frustrated I tend to switch my attention to something else (imagine if I'd spent three years just stuck on that max-jpct matrix conversion thing!).

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11748
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2010, 08:16:07 pm »
...which i still couldn't solve myself. I've no idea what max does different...anyway, the next nightly build of jPCT will handle the multiple-add-situation better, so that we can exclude that as a potential source of error. If you are still having problems then, it has to be some threading issue. As said, moving from single to dual core can make those problems obvious even if they existed for years...but never surfaced.

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1518
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2010, 05:28:58 pm »
Thanks for the tip, Paul. And thanks a lot VT900, you were right. Egon, after removing the object once, can I add it back, then removing again without causing this?

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11748
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Bug in World.renderScene()?
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2010, 07:16:56 pm »
That's not a problem. You can add and remove objects as often as you like as long as you aren't doing this during rendering.