Author Topic: 3D StreetLuge  (Read 4747 times)

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
3D StreetLuge
« on: June 30, 2011, 01:32:24 pm »
Hi Good People

i hope i am posting this in the rite place if not i am Sorry

this is the New game i have made using the Super Fantastic JPCT engine

firstly Thank You to  Everybody in this forum, for the Massive help i have received especially the patient and wonderful EgonOlsen

free download here

http://market.android.com/search?q=pname:com.cg4k.street.luge

Many Thanks Again

lee

 

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 03:25:12 pm by leethegee1 »
SaveTheFrogs

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 03:33:37 pm »
You should use your own package, not com.jpct.threed.example. Android can only install one App per package, i.e. in your case, nobody that has the example installed can install your game (including me)... :(

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 03:57:42 pm »
i see sorting it now
SaveTheFrogs

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2011, 04:38:00 pm »
Hi Egon

it Should be working now... Thanks Again for you Great work and for all of your Help

lee

SaveTheFrogs
SaveTheFrogs

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2011, 05:22:35 pm »
its all working now i Hope
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 10:08:06 am by leethegee1 »
SaveTheFrogs

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2011, 11:51:31 pm »
I installs fine now, but it's unplayable (Nexus S). Am i supposed to control this with tilt controls? It seems to turn around randomly...i can't stand still...and finally, i drive (or better: spin) out of the level and fall into the abyss.

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2011, 07:23:58 pm »
Hi Egon

Thanks for trying the game and giving me your feedback... its much appreciated ... i'm Sorry you fell into the Abyss hehe.. my Java Coding Knowledge is about as good as my English... it worked just fine on my old Skool Nexus 1...

i have made some updates at the same link Above

i think the problem is that your New Fancy NexusS runs faster than my poxy Nexus 1

so i have put a proper timer in

code
if(start==1&&finish==0){
if (System.currentTimeMillis() - time >= 10) {
time = System.currentTimeMillis();
move();/////controls movement of luge   
}

i have also changed the rotation method of the luge from..
cube=Luge and mGravity=Accelerometer data
code.....
cube.rotateY((float) Math.toRadians(mGravity[1]/2));

to........
cube.rotateAxis(cube.getYAxis(),(float) Math.toRadians(-mGravity[1]/2))

Hope it works now
Thanks Again Egon

lee

SaveTheBeezzzz
      




SaveTheFrogs

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2011, 08:49:23 pm »
Still unplayable, i'm afraid. It's better now as i don't fly off the track in light speed now, but the control still suck. It just stutters in some random direction...looks like as if it needs some sensor calibration or something. It behaves like old DOS games, when your joystick wasn't calibrated correctly.

BTW: Why are you making it so difficult to access it? Why don't you upload the apk instead of a zip?

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2011, 11:52:04 pm »
Hi Egon

Ooo Dear ... thanks for trying it again ... i have upload update... i  cleaned up the accelerometer and added accelerometer value "AV" readout on the screen below the timer.....when tilting the phone left it should read from 71 to 78 ..and when tilting Right it should read from 1 to 7.... However if you are sitting next to your computer when playing the magnetic field that your computer gives out can play havoc with the accelerometer so this could be the problem.... as for why i upload a Zip file for some reason my website when i uploaded it as .apk it doesn't give download option...Also for both the zip and apk.... when i tryed to make it a click able link.... it took me to some random buy this,buy that, site   

Honest it works fine on my Phone
thanks again Egon U Rock

lee

SaveTheFrogs

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2011, 10:21:38 pm »
It has improved a little...but it still plays like using an uncalibrated joystick and it still is unplayable that way.

Offline leethegee1

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Computer Games 4 Kids...no Guns...No Violence.Just Loads of Fun
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2011, 03:27:31 pm »
Hi Egon

i have release the game on the market for better or worse... i thought with more people downloading it can get to the bottom of the Bug you found

Many Thanks

lee
SaveTheFrogs

Offline dutch_delight

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: 3D StreetLuge
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2011, 02:54:53 pm »
I had a similar proplem with my game when i (system) updated my phone recently. (nexus S) It worked absolutely fine before but then after the update it gave a similar effect to what Egon describes.

If i remember correctly it turned out that my pitch controls needed to be inside an if check like so:

Code: [Select]
public void onSensorChanged(SensorEvent event) {
final int type = event.sensor.getType();

if (type == Sensor.TYPE_ORIENTATION) {
orientationData = event.values.clone();
azimuth = event.values[0];
pitch = event.values[1];
roll = event.values[2];
}
}
hope that helps
« Last Edit: July 14, 2011, 03:03:59 pm by dutch_delight »