Author Topic: Could i load the skin-animations separately?  (Read 17271 times)

Offline kiffa

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« on: August 10, 2012, 08:38:59 am »
I have an animated-dog, it has many skin-animation-frames(about 2000+, sampled by 24frame/s).

If i load all of them in one time, the left memory will be not enough. So, i want to load 1 - 1000 frames in scene1, and when the world switch to scene2, i will release 1-1000 frames, and load 1000-2000 frames.

How could i do this?

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 10:23:28 am »
isnt exporting them to separate files an option?

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 10:26:25 am »
you can either export to separate xml files or programitcally split single xml to separate .bones files

Offline kiffa

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2012, 06:11:05 am »
Do you mean that:

1, export "dog-mesh + dog-skin-animation(1-1000frames)" as dog1.bones

2, export "dog-mesh + dog-skin-animation(1001 - 2000frames)" as dog2.bones

In this way,  the dog-mesh will be loaded twice, but it only need be loaded once.

Could i load the mesh.xml once and load the skeleton.xml separately?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 06:15:33 am by kiffa »

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2012, 01:30:08 pm »
yes that's what I mean.
 
you don't need two animations at the same time, right? load and use first. then discard it and load second. that way only a single copy of mesh will be in memory

Offline kiffa

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Could i load the skin-animations separately?
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2012, 08:10:29 am »
Yes, there is only one copy of mesh in memory, but i need to load the same mesh twice, which means more "waiting time" for users.

But i think this is not a serious problem, i can handle this by someway, thanks!
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 08:12:07 am by kiffa »