Author Topic: Vuforia + jPCT-AE  (Read 4019 times)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2013, 02:23:55 pm »
All objects from Primitives are lathe objects (except for the plane) which are created with the origin as center.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2013, 03:06:38 pm »
I've got a little question. I perfected the integration with QCAR's engine, but I am faced with a doubt.
BTW: If you have this working fine now, maybe you could add a page about it to the wiki? That would be great, because it seems to be a common problem and i personally can't cover it, because i've no experience with that particular topic. I can create a wiki account for you, if you want to contribute.

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2013, 07:46:53 pm »
Sorry for the delay, got stuck with other stuff.

I would gladly create that wiki page. PM with the details :)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #18 on: February 03, 2013, 08:46:57 pm »
You should have received an email from the wiki system with the account data.

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2013, 08:55:28 pm »
Got it, will get to it ASAP. I haven't got any experience editing wiki pages, though. Might need a little help.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2013, 08:56:34 pm »
It's pretty easy. Just open some of the other pages in edit-mode and you'll see.

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2013, 12:35:16 am »
It's done then:

http://www.jpct.net/wiki/index.php/Integrating_JPCT-AE_with_Vuforia#Setting_up_the_FOV

Please apply the pertinent corrections if I made any mistakes describing the process, I'm no expert myself!
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 12:36:58 am by kelmer »

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #22 on: February 04, 2013, 07:24:16 am »
Looks great, many thanks for that. I'm sure that it will be helpful to others.

Edit: I've added a link it to the wiki's main page.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 07:57:24 am by EgonOlsen »

Offline masonhsiung

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2013, 11:17:54 am »
Hi,
I've followed this wiki instruction.
3D object can be rendered successfully, but it seems that the object is kind of floating/rotating while moving the target, is not perfectly sticked on the target(not like the teapot sample).

I also followed the last part, to translate the object 30 units(I'm using HelloWorld sample, which is using a Cube.) along with the Z-axis, but it didn't help.

Image targets sample screenshot is attached. ( as you can see, the 3D object is not sticked on the center of target)

Any idea?

Thanks!

regards,
Mason Hsiung

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #24 on: February 06, 2013, 07:48:19 pm »
Try with a plane, with no translation (you might need to rotate it 90deg), and let us know the results.

Offline masonhsiung

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2013, 05:04:53 am »
Hi, here are the plane screenshots(one is from front, another is from right, and it seems that I don't need to rotate 90 deg.).
I think the result is the same with the cube...

Any idea?

Thanks!

regards,
Mason Hsiung

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #26 on: February 07, 2013, 09:25:21 am »
It does seem like the objects are laying "behind" the marker.

Remove these lines from initialization, if you have them:

   cam.moveCamera(Camera.CAMERA_MOVEOUT, 50);
   cam.lookAt(cube.getTransformedCenter());

EDIT: Fixed the wiki to reflect this error
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 12:14:00 pm by kelmer »

Offline masonhsiung

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #27 on: February 07, 2013, 11:25:12 am »
Hi, thanks! After removing these two lines, it looks quite ok now.
Thanks!

BTW, since we do still need to translate by Z axis, according to the 3D object size.
If we load some existing models(eg. md2, obj.. etc), how do we get the size of the 3D object? so that we can place the 3D object exactly on the target.

Thanks again!

regards,
Mason Hsiung

Offline kelmer

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #28 on: February 07, 2013, 11:53:19 am »
EgonOlsen already answered that question earlier on this very thread.

Offline masonhsiung

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vuforia + jPCT-AE
« Reply #29 on: February 07, 2013, 12:00:44 pm »
Got it! thanks! I didn't notice that part :)
Thanks!