Author Topic: WARNING: Coordinate array is sparsely populated! Consider to pre-process it to s  (Read 16450 times)

Offline daemontus

• byte
    • View Profile
Hi. I am new to Bones and I am trying to load one quite big .DAE animated model (12k vertices, around 10MB file size) on Android and I get this warning in LogCat:

WARNING: Coordinate array is sparsely populated! Consider to pre-process it to save memory!

Since this model needs around 128MB heap memory just to be loaded successfully, I was wondering what the Warning means and how can I do such a thing. Also any other help on reducing the memory needed to load such model is highly appreciated :) (I am noob so I have just processed the .DAE to .bones using convertion scripts, loaded it using BonesIO.loadGroup() and then added it to world.)

Offline raft

• quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
besides other things, that warning means you load your Collada model directly in Android. instead try converting it to Bones' binary format in desktop. that would be faster, will require less memory and wont depend on Ardor3D's classes in Android.

for the warning itself, try playing with exporter options and look for a setting like use indexed geometry.

Offline daemontus

• byte
    • View Profile
Thanks for advice about exporter, I will definitely look at this.
But that part about native .bones file is interesting. I am actually using .bones format and I get this warning anyway. To be more specific, I am using following code to covert .DAE file to .bones on desktop:

Code: [Select]

File Spectre = new File("/Users/daemontus/Downloads/pilsner.DAE");
URI uri = Spectre.toURI();
final SimpleResourceLocator resLocater = new SimpleResourceLocator(uri.resolve("./"));
        ResourceLocatorTool.addResourceLocator(ResourceLocatorTool.TYPE_MODEL, resLocater);
ColladaImporter Col = new ColladaImporter().loadTextures(true);
ColladaStorage Stor = Col.load(uri.toString());