Author Topic: Need a good arm model (desperately)  (Read 1024 times)

Offline idkm23

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Need a good arm model (desperately)
« on: January 15, 2016, 04:52:35 pm »
Does anyone know what kind of models work well in this framework? What are the best model types that convert well into bones? I need to do skeletal animation and I have been downloading models and converting them, but they are not working as expected. What are some types that you have found work well? (max, blend, etc) Any advice? I am really desperate to find a good, rigged, arm model. If anyone has used a model that worked well, please reply!

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 04:54:55 pm »
but they are not working as expected.
what do you mean by that?

Offline idkm23

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 05:10:28 pm »
I used a model like this: http://tf3dm.com/3d-model/low-poly-character-rigged-47686.html
and: http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/43394

I have been doing skeletal animation on the ninja model and the seymour model and it works good. I am trying to use other models, though. When I used the models above, the limbs would kind-of move but they would stretch a lot for some reason. It was strange.
The affected limb would kinda do something like this: http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20090426053157/halo/images/b/b4/72096526-Full.jpg

Like I said, I am doing the exact same thing on the sample models and it works fine. The skeletons of these models are in the right place when I view them in the sample, too.

Offline idkm23

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2016, 05:36:29 pm »
if you have any working models for skeletal animation, I am willing to try almost anything that has human arm

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2016, 06:33:33 pm »
you can use the ninja and seymour models which comes with the samples.

what do you see when you open those 'faulty' models in OgreSample? is skeleton placed correctly?

Offline idkm23

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2016, 06:56:35 pm »
Yes, I can use those models already, but I am trying to get other models. As for the 'faulty' models, the skeletons of these models appear to be in the right place when I view them in the sample, too.

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2016, 09:41:43 pm »
are the exported animations run okay with OgreSample too?

Offline idkm23

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2016, 10:01:49 pm »
I don't believe the models I linked had any pre-made animations. I am only using the skeleton to animate.

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Need a good arm model (desperately)
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2016, 11:10:23 pm »
maybe animate them in blender and export and try that?