Author Topic: How to Fill SkinData  (Read 4361 times)

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #45 on: January 04, 2017, 06:14:11 pm »
we are talking about Bones' SkinData class, right?

when you import any skeletal animation into Bones, SkinData is automatically generated for you. you can access it via Animated3D.getSkinData()

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #46 on: January 04, 2017, 08:03:12 pm »
I'd still need the very first one, for the model itself, right? We're still talking about my JSON-serialized format, you see.

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #47 on: January 05, 2017, 12:08:20 am »
I'd still need the very first one, for the model itself, right?
sorry?
We're still talking about my JSON-serialized format, you see.
in that case you shouldnt care about vertex count or unique vertex count in jPCT. your exporter from 3dsMax and importer to jPCT should agree on that.

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2017, 05:53:32 pm »
Our skeleton order, on a regular Biped skeleton, goes: index 0 for the skeleton itself, 1 for "footsteps", 2 for pelvis, from which it then moves to the head before moving to the clavicles and arms. Is there any particular order (since what is basically a tree has to be converted into an ordered array) needed?

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2017, 06:03:37 pm »
as you intend to write the importer part too, it doesnt actually matter.

but Bones' internal logic requires joints in a skeleton are ordered such that a joint's parent joint always comes before the joint itself. this should be handled either at exporter or importer.

Offline AGP

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
Re: How to Fill SkinData
« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2017, 10:07:51 pm »
Yeah, we did that on both ends for performance. Still, we get joint issues. I'll post more on Tuesday. Thanks for the quick response.