Author Topic: Imperio - Galaxy-wide strategy  (Read 14403 times)

meinfilter

Imperio - Galaxy-wide strategy
« on: November 24, 2005, 01:24:12 am »
Hi,

I'm evaluating jPCT to decide if I will use it in my project: a strategy multiplayer game called "Imperio", which shows portions of a galaxy as planets connected by worm-holes (slim cylinders).

I have been using IDX3D to show those planets and cylinders, and move and rotate the camera around in every direction. But I have realized that it lacks some features I need, and I wondered if jPCT has them.

The features I'm interested in:
- Drawing distant stars as points (maybe on some huge sphere that contains the whole scene) that must rotate as the scene does.
- Drawing each planet's name under it (so I need a way to draw characters that are always looking at the camera, whatever its position).

Any quick guidance to know if it would be not too difficult to achieve these? I'm a newbie in 3D, and might spend a lot of time trying something wrong...

Thanks in advance.

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Imperio - Galaxy-wide strategy
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2005, 04:56:33 pm »
Quote from: "meinfilter"

- Drawing distant stars as points (maybe on some huge sphere that contains the whole scene) that must rotate as the scene does.

Possible IMO, but the way i'm thinking of requires some work to do it. Are these stars actually reachable or just for decoration?

- Drawing each planet's name under it (so I need a way to draw characters that are always looking at the camera, whatever its position).
Possible . You could use a billboarded quad (will grow/shrink depending on the distance, text may be hard to read if too small) or blitted text (will always have the same size, always be readable but doesn't take overlapping into account). It depends on your needs which way is better.

Hope this helps.

Offline meinfilter

• byte
    • View Profile