Author Topic: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?  (Read 3255 times)

Offline ToddMcF2002

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« on: May 17, 2007, 03:38:10 pm »
Namely Culling, Transparency, Blending, Texture?  Assuming of course you have this state.  If not I'll track them in a wrapper but I wanted to avoid abstracting the API in case anyone else wants to use this devkit app I'm making without stumbling on a bunch of custom wrappers.

 

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11777
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2007, 10:21:49 am »
Culling and transparency are easy to expose. I'll do this on monday (hopefully). Blending is easy too, but pointless when using the OpenGL-renderers because it's valid for software mode only. Texture isn't possible because the method actually assigns the texture not to the object but to each polygon. And that assignment can be changed per polygon afterwards. So an Object3D can't return a texture that's valid for all its polygons or at least it doesn't know if it is.

Offline ToddMcF2002

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2007, 02:07:17 pm »
Nice.  Culling and Transparency would be perfect.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11777
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2007, 06:38:40 pm »

Offline ToddMcF2002

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2007, 08:33:12 pm »
Thanks Egon.  I'll integrate it tonight on the devkit.  So obviously when I release the the source it will be dependent on that.



Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11777
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Can some Object3D Properties Be Exposed?
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2007, 06:44:31 pm »
So obviously when I release the the source it will be dependent on that.
That should be fine. I'll release that version (more or less) as 1.14 (maybe next week or so) and do the shadow mapping in 1.15 (as initially planned).