Author Topic: A new demo...  (Read 10016 times)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
A new demo...
« on: August 22, 2007, 12:05:24 am »
...can be found here: http://www.jpct.net/demos/dust/dust.jnlp. It requires a GeForce3 or better to render something useful. It'll most likely start on cards that don't support all the required features, but it won't look very pretty.

« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 06:13:30 pm by EgonOlsen »

Offline Klaudiusz

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 09:13:37 pm »
Haha, works great here on ATI. Well done Egon!

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 09:36:46 pm »
Good to know. This demo is in fact a compatibility test to see if 1.15 is ready for a release. I had some problems especially on ATI that should be fixed, but you never know... ;) Which ATI card is that exactly?

Offline Klaudiusz

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2007, 11:08:09 pm »
I have ATI Radeon x550. With v1.15 seems like everything works fine...:)

Kearnan

  • Guest
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2007, 06:52:54 am »
Looks great and works fine on my ATI Radeon 9550/X1050 as long as I select a depth of 32.  I tried it on two computers; the second with an ATI Radeon 9600 (Pretty much the same card, this one with an older driver) and also got great results as long as I selected a depth of 32.  I changed my monitor Color depth on both computers to 16 bit and still no results at any X*X*16.   X*X*32 still worked fine.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2007, 08:42:38 am »
Looks great and works fine on my ATI Radeon 9550/X1050 as long as I select a depth of 32.  I tried it on two computers; the second with an ATI Radeon 9600 (Pretty much the same card, this one with an older driver) and also got great results as long as I selected a depth of 32.  I changed my monitor Color depth on both computers to 16 bit and still no results at any X*X*16.   X*X*32 still worked fine.
Do these cards support FBOs? If you open the webstart console, there should be a message about FBOs being found or not (right after the initialization of the OpenGL renderer). If not, then it's using another approach to render into a texture that may not work with 16bpp desktops. Maybe you can check that? That would be great. The lowest ATI that i can check out is a X800, so i don't know how the 9x00 series behaves.

BTW: How does it behave in 16bpp? Crash? No display? Renders rubish?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 09:42:42 am by EgonOlsen »

Kearnan

  • Guest
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2007, 01:37:17 am »
After more tesing, it seems I was being to hasty with my "Please select video mode..." choice.  I was simply selecting the first 16bit option which askes for a 59 refresh rate.  On that choice, No Display, the frame doesn't open at all.  That's actually the only 16bpp choice I had problems with on either card on either computer.  All of the other choices with refresh rates other than 59, ran perfectly.

Overall, I tested it on four computers all with ATI Graphics cards with the same results.  The 59 seems to be the only problem.  I had good results with about two dozen random choices, other than the "59", with an even spread of 16 and 32.

This is my console output at a few 16bpp Video Mode choices.

320*200*16 - 59
   Application window does not open.
   Console Output:
      Exception in thread "Thread-8" java.lang.NullPointerException
      at com.threed.jpct.Config.glSetDesiredVideoMode(Unknown Source)
      at com.threed.jpct.demos.dust.Dust.selected(Dust.java:46)
      at com.threed.jpct.demos.util.ResolutionFrame$2.run(ResolutionFrame.java:20)

320*200*16 - 60
   Application window opens and runs correctly.
   Console Output:
      Java version is: 1.6.0_02
      -> support for BufferedImage
      Version helper for 1.2+ initialized!
      -> using BufferedImage
      Software renderer (OpenGL mode) initialized
      Software renderer disposed
      Current mode:320 x 200 x 16 @60Hz
      Driver is: ati2dvag/6.14.10.6683 on ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
      FBO supported and used!
      OpenGL renderer initialized (using 4 texture stages).....etc.....



320*200*16 - 75
   Application window opens and runs correctly.
   Console Output:
      Java version is: 1.6.0_02
      -> support for BufferedImage
      Version helper for 1.2+ initialized!
      -> using BufferedImage
      Software renderer (OpenGL mode) initialized
      Software renderer disposed
      Current mode:320 x 200 x 16 @60Hz
      Driver is: ati2dvag/6.14.10.6683 on ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
      FBO supported and used!
      OpenGL renderer initialized (using 4 texture stages).....etc.....

1440*900*16 - 60
   Application window opens and runs correctly and looks great.
   Console Output:
      Java version is: 1.6.0_02
      -> support for BufferedImage
      Version helper for 1.2+ initialized!
      -> using BufferedImage
      Software renderer (OpenGL mode) initialized
      Software renderer disposed
      Current mode:1440 x 900 x 16 @85Hz
      Driver is: ati2dvag/6.14.10.6683 on ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
      FBO supported and used!
      OpenGL renderer initialized (using 4 texture stages).....etc.....


Happy coding

-Kearnan

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2007, 08:20:02 am »
320*200*16 - 59
   Application window does not open.
   Console Output:
      Exception in thread "Thread-8" java.lang.NullPointerException
      at com.threed.jpct.Config.glSetDesiredVideoMode(Unknown Source)
      at com.threed.jpct.demos.dust.Dust.selected(Dust.java:46)
      at com.threed.jpct.demos.util.ResolutionFrame$2.run(ResolutionFrame.java:20)
Yes, i've noticed that behaviour on one of my machines too. This mode causes trouble albeit i've no idea why. The driver reports it but somehow it doesn't make it from the selection down to the actual method and causes a null pointer...must be some problem in the selection window. I'll look into it next week if playing BioShock permits it... ;D

Anyway, thanks for testing!

Offline raft

  • quad
  • ******
  • Posts: 1971
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2007, 01:30:02 pm »
it works well on my intel 915 chpiset too. except the bloom effect which kills the performance as other the bloom demo. the interesting part is the shadows are much sharper in this demo. as you will remember the cube-sphere sample was generating blurred edges

here is the shot:

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2007, 05:10:58 pm »
Thanks for testing it on Intel. The chips doesn't have the fillrate to handle bloom very well, i suppose. And it seems to lack support for FBOs or otherwise, the shadow map's resolution would be higher than it is in your screen shot.

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2007, 08:52:35 pm »
This SSHOT was on a VIA S3 UNICHROME video card. I never expected to work just was a "just in case".

« Last Edit: August 29, 2007, 09:44:36 pm by Melssj5 »
Nada por ahora

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11770
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2007, 10:21:47 pm »
Shadows and projective textures are missing, but at least it renders something... ;) Thanks for testing on that exotic hardware.

Offline cyberkilla

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • http://futurerp.net
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2007, 02:38:05 pm »
That was fantastic!

Sorry i missed a screenshot, but I can tell you it renders PERFECT on my "Geforce 8400M GT GPU".

Wow, I didn't realise I was on a nividia now:D
http://futurerp.net - Text Based MMORPG
http://beta.rpwar.com - 3D Isometric MMORPG

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2007, 03:01:26 am »
Is there a demo version with a .bat file to run it? I want to test certain hardware emulator but I need to have an exe or bat file to use it.
Nada por ahora

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: A new demo...
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2007, 03:07:13 am »
This is a screenshot with a GeForce 4 mx440 - 64MB

Nada por ahora