Author Topic: strategy game  (Read 38073 times)

Offline fireside

• double
    • View Profile
strategy game
« on: October 01, 2008, 04:23:15 am »
My next project, which is basically in the concept phase, will involve turn based strategy but be single player.  I was inspired by RoBombs to do something involving pathfinding and AI.  I plan to start fairly simple with just a fight test, but as usual, I think more in terms of characters because I'm a modeler.  Anyway, this is a character I plan to put in the game.

It's just taken from inside of Blender so far.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2008, 04:29:03 am by fireside »
click here->Fireside 7 Games<-

Offline fireside

• double
    • View Profile
Re: strategy game
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 09:57:38 pm »
Finally got started on this project.  I'm not the greatest programmer, so things are going a little slow.  So far I can click and put a cube on the closest square of a 30X30 grid and then move around another cube which will show possible moves.

The next thing is to set up an imaginary map using a two dimensional array that has character position and blocked squares because of walls or something and implement astar pathfinding.  I'm not sure if strategy is the right name for this game but it won't really be role playing either since there won't be character choices, etc, but it will eventually act somewhat more like a role playing game with a story without as much inventory management or camping and whatnot.  I plan on wandering around in first person and then jumping to a high altitude 3rd person when there is a fight.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2008, 10:09:53 pm by fireside »

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 11:08:21 pm »