Author Topic: What are the bare minimums to set up a world with an empty plane?  (Read 4064 times)

Offline themendios

• byte
    • View Profile
What are the bare minimums to set up a world with an empty plane?
« on: September 21, 2010, 10:42:14 am »
All I want is to make a plane with a tiled texture and put a camera in it.

What is the bare minimum to achieve this?  I am really not sure, I thought if I created a plane, put it in the world, and had ambient lighting in the world, that I should see it, but it's just a pure black scene.

I am pretty new to this so I'm not really sure where to start, the wiki isn't a ton of help because I'm not wanting to pre-create a world from a 3ds file, I want to dynamically generate it as you move about.

Offline raft

• quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: What are the bare minimums to set up a world with an empty plane?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 01:57:13 pm »
yes, these should be sufficient provided with your camera is at a proper location to see the plane.

Offline themendios

• byte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 02:06:50 pm »
Thanks for the response ;)  

I found an old post by paulscode that basically helped me create an applet that I was for the first time after modifying it able to create a simple plane and see it.  I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong on the application side, there seem to be a million different Java graphics options and Google only turns up other APIs.

Even with that I'm nowhere near what I wanted and the demos are are so hugely complex I am seriously about to give up.  They only seem to implement displayGLOnly, and I'm not well-versed enough in the half a dozen Java graphics concepts to know what else I can pass to it.