Author Topic: any hint on anti-alias ?  (Read 3638 times)

Offline guillaume

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
any hint on anti-alias ?
« on: December 20, 2011, 10:03:53 am »
hi,  my app will run on a custom hardware, and it only support opengl es 1.0,
so how should  I implement anti-alias on my app with jPCT-AE ? thanks.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 12295
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 10:35:52 am »
You can't. It isn't supported on ES 1.0 as far as i know.

Offline guillaume

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 01:03:10 am »
You can't. It isn't supported on ES 1.0 as far as i know.
thanks. so what's the minimum ES version should I get ?
or is there any other way to implement it ?

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 12295
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2011, 07:51:52 am »
You need 2.0 for this. jPCT has a helper class in the util-package to enable it for an OpenGL ES 2.0 context.

Edit: Example image: http://www.jpct.net/forum2/index.php/topic,2067.msg15892.html#msg15892

Offline guillaume

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2011, 11:49:07 am »
by the way, I also tested my app with jPCT desktop version.
does code
Code: [Select]
buffer = new FrameBuffer(800, 600, FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_HARDWARE_ONLY);

will enable anti-alias ? the result seems no effect.
look the attach image

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 12295
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2011, 12:09:02 pm »
No, it doesn't. Either use FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_2X or FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_4X instead. Or force it in the driver settings.

Offline guillaume

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2011, 12:15:11 pm »
I try this.
Code: [Select]
buffer = new FrameBuffer(800, 600, FrameBuffer.SAMPLINGMODE_GL_AA_4X);

and the result  seems the same.  am I missing something others ?

see the attachment.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 12295
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2011, 12:43:24 pm »
No, that's all there is to do. That doesn't mean that AA is supported on your platform. Many Intel onboard chips don't support it, for example.

Offline guillaume

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2011, 12:56:34 pm »
yes.  I am using intel onboard chips.
is there a software way to do anti-alias ?

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 12295
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: any hint on anti-alias ?
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2011, 01:59:20 pm »
No, not really. If it's not a laptop, go out and buy a cheap dedicated graphics card. Anything will do better than this Intel onboard crap (albeit they ARE improving, but it's about time...).