Author Topic: jPCT rendering into JavaFX 2.0  (Read 3077 times)

Offline rjm49

• byte
    • View Profile
jPCT rendering into JavaFX 2.0
« on: March 07, 2012, 03:48:34 pm »
Hi folks/Gruess Gott,

I'm new to jPCT and liking it!  Such compact and no-nonsense toolkits are so rare these days.  I have come from Java3D, which I can only conclude was never designed to actually be used by anyone.

I am trying to integrate jPCT with JavaFX 2.0.  This is because JavaFX's 3D own features cannot be used on my XP netbook (Mobile Intel 945 Express graphics chipset), even with all latest drivers.  A shame, given how common these chipsets are.

So the aim of my project - to get jPCT rendering onto a JavaFX Image, so that it can be viewed (via ImageView) as a panel showing jPCT 3D coolness, in the JavaFX scene.

I have achieved this, but not in a satisfactory/stable way.  Before we go into details of my horrid hacks, I'd be interested to hear if anyone else has had a go at this, and/or whether there is a "standard approach" to such a thing.

In the case of my project, I am trying to simply display the jPCT HelloWorld "spinning cube", in a single ImageView in the JavaFX scene.  So I need to get frames from jPCT and update the Image/ImageView repeatedly to animate it.  Not trying to do event handling or anything at this point.

I am happy to delve into code, I firstly just want to see if anyone else has had a go, or thought about it?

Thanks/Danke!

Russell (rjm49)
« Last Edit: April 26, 2012, 04:51:43 pm by rjm49 »

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: jPCT rendering into JavaFX 2.0
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 08:22:34 pm »
As far as i know, nobody tried this so far. What is ImageView? It is comparable to java.awt Image or more like a Component?

Offline rjm49

• byte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 06:12:54 pm »
Hi Egon, thanks for the quick response.  Yes, I should clarify: