Author Topic: JPCT Demo to AE porting ?  (Read 2062 times)

Offline PastGenGaming

• byte
    • View Profile
JPCT Demo to AE porting ?
« on: October 26, 2012, 01:46:07 pm »
Hello boys :)

Just a little background story: I've done some small personal projects in Unity3D, DarkBasic, UnRealEngine and Delphi. These have all been fun and educational to use, but it is time for me to move on to something capable of handling Android games (Without the cost of fx. Unity).

Well. For the past few weeks, I've been reading through the JavaDOCS (And java in general) - And I have started to get a little cross on JPCT(hopefully-soon-to-be)AE.
I took the basic FPS (Quake level) piece of code, and got rid of the elevator, changed the lighting, modelled 2 new maps and a few weapons and implemented it using the basic code as a blueprint. Well. There's a looong way to go, as I'm mainly a 2D/3D artist, and use most my time in that area of artism.

I'm currently working on getting some bitmap touch events to work out, as this is the main reason I'm jumping ahead. I need to know if my intent is a reality before I go any further with this project :)

I would really like to know if anybody tried porting the Basic Quake Level and Gun FPS Demo example to JPCT-AE, and what problems they faced during that port?

I did some searches, but nothing looked like this question. I might have done wrong, and in that case - please feel free to correct me, and refer me to what you see as the answer. Mr. Olsen already got some Very fine examples in his RPG, and I would love to hit that level before the Next year runs out.

I don't hope I piss someone off by asking these retarded questions, but I'll be going through more documentation as you read this :)

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: JPCT Demo to AE porting ?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2012, 09:31:22 pm »