Author Topic: Music Game: Sound of Infinity  (Read 3872 times)

Offline Starfight

• byte
    • View Profile
Music Game: Sound of Infinity
« on: April 07, 2013, 12:01:24 am »
This game is in progress. Sorry for my bad english, I'm french.

Subject

This is my first project on Android. My aim is to create a game which is etablished depending on a song.
I know it's not a revolutionary idea but I think it's a good start. My inspiration come from Audiosurf, Supersonic HD and Music Ride (a game using jPCT-AE).
It's a project for my ingineering school ENSC at Bordeaux, France.
The game's name is inspired from a F-777's song.

Using jPCT-AE

I use jPCT-AE for create a random tube where a spaceship come from one side to the other collecting bonus (light blue sphere) placed depending on the notes of the song.
I analyse the song with a FFT previously for detecting the notes.
The tube is created in the application
The spaceship and its texture are imported from a 3DS file.

Currents problems

At the moment the application work without problem.
The only lack is the optimisation. In fact, my game running with approximatively 45-50 FPS, what is not too bad but not perfect too.
I don't know is it's due to the number of 3D objects or the move's computations.

Some Screenshots

Thanks for watching.

Offline zbych

• int
    • View Profile
Re: Music Game: Sound of Infinity
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2013, 09:09:37 pm »
Sounds interesting. You are "detecting" notes or rythm? What kind of algorithm do you use, or you have separated file with precalculated beat/note data?
I am asking because I was trying diffrent kind of beat detection algorithms and my results weren't as good as in Audiosurf.

Offline Starfight

• byte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 03:35:56 pm »
I'm "detecting" the difference between 2 temporal windows.