Author Topic: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???  (Read 809 times)

Offline grimar2008

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« on: April 14, 2013, 01:11:55 pm »
Hi,
I am using JPCT-AE and importing my map from 3DS object and it loads it flawlessly.
However while my program is running logcat seems to repeat the message
"Additional visibility list (x) created with size: 512" where x goes up to 2000
Now I tried google-ing it, and checking the documentation but failed so I came to this forum to seek help.

How can I fix this???
Thanks.

Edit: Almost forgot the most important thing, it loads my RAM pretty quick and crashes the program as soon as it takes all the app memory.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2013, 01:13:32 pm by grimar2008 »

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2013, 05:30:08 pm »
This usually happens if your render sequence is wrong, i.e. make sure that you are doing renderScene/draw/display in onDrawFrame or if some exception happens during rendering that you swallow.

Offline grimar2008

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 02:03:24 am »
Thanks for a quick response. I somehow did manage to misplace my display under a comment I made so that fixed my problem.

I also just wanted to ask one more question.
I used jpct-ae more than six months ago and imported .3ds file. I've implemented gravity along with the checkcollision and everything worked fine on my file.

I've began working on that code once again so I decided to import the new jpct-ae library. Anyway the gravity check collision doesn't work anymore (but when setting gravity to 0 I can collide with other walls), so I tried it with another 3ds file used in some jpct examples and everything works fine there.  (elipsoid collision)

So I am really confused about all of this. I am sure my 3ds file is okay and the polygons are aligned properly but no matter how many floors I put the collision won't work on them, while on this other map it works flawlessly.

Was there some change in collision listeners or model importers or am I having some other problems here related to android 4.1 and above.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2013, 09:05:11 pm »
No, nothing has changed in this part of the engine. If it works with another model, it has to be caused by your model. Have you tried to increase this value:

http://www.jpct.net/jpct-ae/doc/com/threed/jpct/Config.html#collideEllipsoidThreshold??

Offline grimar2008

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2013, 09:43:35 pm »
Is there some page where I can read some FAQ on building my levels in 3ds files? (recommended size of polygons and such)

This must not have worked because my polygons were too large. I built 4 large cubes to serve as my level and check if the collision works.

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11769
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: Loading 3ds model unsuccessful???
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2013, 10:15:13 pm »
If your polygons are larger, you can simply adjust the setting that i posted above.