Author Topic: Transparent plane and Polyline overlap  (Read 3531 times)

Offline atreyu64

• byte
    • View Profile
Transparent plane and Polyline overlap
« on: July 31, 2013, 11:45:06 am »
Hi,

I'm very new with jPCT and this is my first post.
So first congratulations for this great framework, easy to use even for a person not familiar at all with opengl like me, I really appreciate !

I'm planning to develop a kind of "virtual hiking guide" (for a french mountain), showing pathes with polylines and interest points (like mountain huts, lake names, ...) using plane billboards.
It works great and even an old android phone with sdk 2.3.3 can handle my 20000 polygons terrain, which is awesome. To be honest I've tried first another android opengl framework but it couldn't take that amount of polygons. JPCT seems the most performant one !

Anyway, the point is I have a transparency problem with my planes. When a polyline is behind a billboard plane, it is displayed as if it was "in front" of the plane.
I gess the problem comes from my plane transparency, which I have set this way (I need alpha channel) :

Code: [Select]
Object3D plane = Primitives.getPlane(1, size);
if(TextureManager.getInstance().containsTexture(textureName) == false)
TextureManager.getInstance().addTexture(textureName, new Texture(bitmap, true));
plane.setTexture(textureName);
plane.setBillboarding(true);
plane.setTransparency(100);

Note that I also scale the planse according to their distance to camera to make them look always at the same size on the screen, but I don't think it has a link with the issue.

And here is how I create my polylines :

Polyline pathLine = new Polyline(pointsArray, color);
pathLine.setWidth(8f);
world.addPolyline(pathLine);

Thanks in advance, and tell me if you need a screenshot, I don't know if what I'm saying is clear, my native language is french.

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net