Author Topic: Decisions and, more decisions...  (Read 1828 times)

Offline Trasd

• byte
    • View Profile
Decisions and, more decisions...
« on: November 17, 2013, 06:32:16 pm »
I have been struggling for months trying to find the right Android 3D Game development system.  I had pretty much decided on JME, but after some testing and further research, I've discovered JME isn't necessarily the best Android performer.  I would also prefer to not use a scripting engine.

Though I have over 30 years of PC programming experience in C/C++ and Assembly, I do not know the first thing about game programming and am only just finishing my (Android) Java education.  I am completely self-taught in anything to do with computers.  Don't worry, I am not writing for technical advice, these forums cover those topics pretty well.  What I am looking for is some guidance!

First, before I ask my questions, I would like to make a few things clear:
  • I am more worried about performance, quality, and stability than getting a product out the door as fast as possible
  • I do understand jPCT is a 3D engine, not necessarily a game engine (translation, I would still have a lot of work to do in writing a game)
  • I am not worried about porting to any other OS (though if possible, I did want to keep that option open)
  • I am not scared to learn new concepts (there are plenty of free game theory books available)
  • I am not afraid of a coding challenge
  • I plan on writing, mostly, 3D RPGs (Oblivion, Ravensword, etc.)
  • I want as much control as possible (given my other statements)
  • I only want to use free tools, or write my own that are not available for free