Author Topic: How can I make Geomipmapping 3D terrain from GeoTiff(ASTER GDEM)+online map.  (Read 5834 times)

Offline airfoil

• byte
    • View Profile
 :DHello,
I am a android app developer and want to make 3d terrain map using ASTER-GDEM(GeoTiff) file.
I find the following three samples.

1. appropriate 3d terrain generation source code from DEM files.
2. method or class of reading GeoTiff files.
3. method or class of applying on and offline map texture.

Thanks for advance.
SH.Woo

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
I'm not sure what your actual question is? If you ask if there is some magic class that does this, then i don't know of any.

Offline airfoil

• byte
    • View Profile
Dear EgonOlsen
Sorry for bothering you.

My question is too broad because I don't know anything.
Now, I am making a concept for my project.
Anyway, I want to change my question on detail or smaller.

1. How can I apply vertex array to plane?
2. How can I make group of plane? (Object3D mergeAll ?)
     When I mergeAll several Object3Ds, what is each Object3D's positioning method?
3. Is there different between plane's quard and mesh concept?

At first, here only. my question is poor yet.

Thanks

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
What do you mean by "apply vertex array to plane"? Dynamically alter a plane to that it forms some landscape or create an Object3D out of some vertex data at load time or...?

Offline airfoil

• byte
    • View Profile
I want to make a app like below picture.

The online map is consist of several tiles.
When I do zoom in or out, resolution of the tiles(plane) is changed for speed and detail focus.
Online map tiles(texture) and tile's vertex resolution is also updated.

ElevMaps app show excellent performance. But my project target is over it.
More detail terrain 3d map, track play, replay flying, etc...

What is your first tip for this project target?