Author Topic: HelloWorld for Android  (Read 3318 times)

Offline gamedev-eo

• byte
    • View Profile
HelloWorld for Android
« on: August 11, 2016, 04:42:45 am »
Hello I am trying to follow this
http://www.jpct.net/wiki/index.php?title=Hello_World_for_Android

It seems to be very old code using deprecated features of Android and OpenGL ES 1.0, but the main issue I have is regarding the BitmapHelper class.

I try import com.threed.jpct.util.BitmapHelper; but it does not exist and Android Studio reports that it cannot resolve symbol wherever the class objects are used.

It would be very useful if someone could modernise the Hello World example seeing as it is the first place someone new to JPCT will be heading, and as it stands now, it does not seem to work.

I'm new to Android and Java, but I'm trying to work around to resolve the issues with this code, but due to my inexperience, this is quite difficult.

I would appreciate the help.

Thanks.

Question also, why is the code using the khronos opengl includes rather than the android specific ones?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2016, 04:44:38 am by gamedev-eo »

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: HelloWorld for Android
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 07:17:11 am »
The BitmapHelper is still where it had always been. Maybe you've downloaded/used the wrong distribution? There's a desktop version (jPCT) and an Android version (jPCT-AE). Make sure to use the right one.
Which deprecated features does it use? And there's nothing wrong with OpenGL 1.x IMHO. The HelloWorld example is supposed to be as simple as it gets and OpenGL 1.x fits there nicely.

Offline gamedev-eo

• byte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2016, 10:55:17 am »
Apologies 

I was working in Ubuntu and had forgotten to download the specific android package ::)

The deprecated thing is to do with drawables (I'm at work so will have to check at home to be more exact).