Author Topic: Another Texture Problem  (Read 4909 times)

Offline Druid012

• byte
    • View Profile
Another Texture Problem
« on: July 07, 2006, 05:38:51 am »
I'm completely new to your engine and am working with the FPS demo that was supplied to learn about the engine and become more proficient with it. That being said, I've run into a texture problem while coding within the FPS demo. I downloaded a free version of 3ds Max from Autodesk so that I could edit the ql.3ds environment, the basic map of the 'game'.

I imported the file into the program and did some simple edit, such as adding a sphere into the middle of the map. I then exported it as a .3ds file and placed it into the 3ds folder. Finally, I replaced the old file with this new edited one and ran the 'game'. The game loaded fine and the sphere was where it was supposed to be, the issue was that none of the textures on the entire map loaded, so I was stuck in a maze of white.

I read another post on a similar problem, and tried that solution, but to no avail. I even tried editing nothing in the 3ds file and just importing and then exporting it again, with the same result. This means that 3ds Max is somehow detaching the texturing information from the objects themselves or something to that effect. I hope that someone out there can help me, and please try to keep it simple since I am completely new at this.

Thanx a ton,
    Druid012

Offline Melssj5

• double
    • View Profile
Another Texture Problem
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 05:43:03 pm »
Yeah, it seems that 3ds max it importing the file without the textures. Nothing to do there. You can try to modify it on another software or even making your own map. Its also posible to place the textures again, but when imported as 3ds it loads as one only object.
Nada por ahora

Offline Druid012

• byte
    • View Profile
Another Texture Problem
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2006, 09:18:04 pm »
Thanks for the tip.