Author Topic: Technopolies  (Read 203560 times)

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Technopolies
« Reply #360 on: May 12, 2006, 06:42:40 pm »
Good to see you back in business. The new textures look great. I like the vivid colors very much. I've noticed a two things:
There sometimes seems to be a problem with the trees' shadows not being there, but when i tried to reproduce this problem in my second run (my first run crashed due to a cooling problem with my machine), i couldn't...so i'm not sure what caused it.
The far clipping plane is a bit strange when zooming in. If you are standing on a hill, the lower parts of the terrain get clipped, which looks strange. This is not a new problem, earlier versions had it too. I thought i might just mention it this time... :wink:
Other than that, it worked fine and it feels better from version to version. It also got faster, doesn't it?

Offline Uija

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #361 on: May 15, 2006, 11:32:05 am »
yay, welcome back!
Very nice screenshots!

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
0.9.9 is out
« Reply #362 on: May 29, 2006, 10:40:17 am »
Download links:
*Removed*

What's New:

- changed versioning
- changed application loader
- improved usage of items. Cursor will change to "HAND" if your equipped item may be used on target. You may now equip axes and pickaxes to main/off hand
- new object: Cactus. May be harvested to pick cactus spikes
- new object Junk Pile. You may search junk piles for random items.
- new objects: water and oil tanks
- new object: wooden fence
- fixes for UI
- changes to serialization and 3d mapping. old clients may become incompatible
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 10:48:07 pm by EgonOlsen »
Regards,
Andrei

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #363 on: June 17, 2006, 04:04:25 pm »
New version is just a couple days away.

Changes:

-new small tutorial scenario
-new mosters
-new objects
-game balance improvements

Hopefully, it will be now possible to create new scenarios / quests fast and easy with new NPC Editor.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 10:57:24 pm by EgonOlsen »
Regards,
Andrei

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
0.9.10 is out
« Reply #364 on: June 22, 2006, 01:40:32 pm »
Download *Removed*



New features:
- new NPC scripting engine
- new monster: Skavenger
- new structures & plants
- new weapons & armor
- new tutorial scenario
- minor features and bugfixes
*Removed*
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 10:48:20 pm by EgonOlsen »
Regards,
Andrei

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Technopolies
« Reply #365 on: June 23, 2006, 01:00:09 am »
Looks great...but doesn't work... :( I tried to run the webstart version and am getting this:

Code: [Select]
Total textures:1331
Total textures: 11
java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
at java.util.AbstractList$Itr.checkForComodification(Unknown Source)
at java.util.AbstractList$ListItr.set(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Collections.sort(Unknown Source)
at t1.as.b(Unknown Source)
at t1.as.a(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.c(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.b(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.startVisual(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.main(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Removing AWT listeners: ...Removing Handlers: ...done
Clearing 3d objects...Clearing map ...done

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #366 on: June 23, 2006, 09:52:40 am »
Quote from: "EgonOlsen"
Looks great...but doesn't work... :( I tried to run the webstart version and am getting this:

Code: [Select]
Total textures:1331
Total textures: 11
java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
at java.util.AbstractList$Itr.checkForComodification(Unknown Source)
at java.util.AbstractList$ListItr.set(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Collections.sort(Unknown Source)
at t1.as.b(Unknown Source)
at t1.as.a(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.c(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.b(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.startVisual(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.main(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Removing AWT listeners: ...Removing Handlers: ...done
Clearing 3d objects...Clearing map ...done


probably because of multi-threaded code. Fixed, try now please.
Regards,
Andrei

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Technopolies
« Reply #367 on: June 23, 2006, 04:10:29 pm »
Loads fine now, but i can't connect to the server ATM. Is it down or is this a local problem? About the Display-before-Keyboard-stuff mentioned in the JGF: I assume this is caused by the Display not initialized because of the lack of matching video modes. I had a look in the properties file and you are setting the bpp to 32. This is fine on Windows, but on Linux, you don't get 32bpp reported by the driver but 24bpp. Maybe that's the problem?

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #368 on: June 23, 2006, 04:14:50 pm »
Looks like the old properties file makes you to connect to old server.

Delete "Documents and settings/user/.technopolies" folder to reset to default
or adjust the following property:

Code: [Select]
server.host=dev.maryno.net
Regards,
Andrei

Offline EgonOlsen

  • Administrator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 11745
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Technopolies
« Reply #369 on: June 23, 2006, 04:26:27 pm »
Yes, that worked. I thought the file was current, because it said:

#Auto generated
#Fri Jun 23 16:00:41 CEST 2006

However, runs fine now. Too bad, that i haven't got the time to play it today... :(

Offline Raven

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vortex.is/raven
Technopolies
« Reply #370 on: June 24, 2006, 04:01:52 am »
Hey Rolz, screenshots look great!

I downloaded the latest WebStart version, but unfortunately got an error while launching:

Code: [Select]
java.lang.IllegalStateException: Display must be created before you can create Keyboard
at org.lwjgl.input.Keyboard.create(Keyboard.java:286)
at t1.ar.a(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.a(Unknown Source)
at t1.di.<init>(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.startVisual(Unknown Source)
at techno.client.world3d.Client3D.main(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Launcher.java:1154)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Launcher.java:1101)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Launcher.java:944)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Launcher.java:515)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Launcher.java:218)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Launcher.java:165)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:613)


I'm running on Mac OS 10.4.6., java 1.5. Any ideas?
Look forward to testing it.

-Hrafn / Raven

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #371 on: June 24, 2006, 07:35:15 am »
Hey Raven,

You could try switching between 16/32 screen depth to make it run,

edit /home/.technopolies/techno.properties - as mentioned above.

p.s. I will have to add a startup / options screen in the next version
Regards,
Andrei

Offline CinergyStudios

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #372 on: July 02, 2006, 06:58:45 pm »
sounds like rolz is back in action
img]http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a229/TwO_CliCkS_AhEaD/cinergy-soldier-sig.gif[/img]

--War of the Zeth--
  Comming Soon

Offline rolz

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Technocrat
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #373 on: July 04, 2006, 09:18:14 am »
Yes. Got a job offer from abroad, moving later this autumn.

Also, an agreement has been made with nationwide internet provider - they are adding the game to the pool of their intranet resources and will provide a server and steady internet connection. The future is getting brighter for technopolies.
Regards,
Andrei

Offline Melssj5

  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Technopolies
« Reply #374 on: July 04, 2006, 06:08:34 pm »
Very nice.  8)  Keep on going rolz.
Nada por ahora