Author Topic: reproject question  (Read 3666 times)

Offline Disastorm

• long
    • View Profile
reproject question
« on: July 12, 2011, 04:45:52 am »
Hello, this is my first time programming anything in android.
I'm not sure why im having this problem but maybe you can help me.  When I do the below code it seems to keep adding the object at the center of the screen instead of where i click/touch.  Am I using this method incorrectly? 
Code: [Select]
SimpleVector dest = new SimpleVector(0, 0, 0);
dest=Interact2D.reproject2D3DWS(cam, fb, (int)xpos, (int)ypos);

Object3D newObj = Primitives.getBox(5f, 5f);
newObj.setOrigin(dest);
world.addObject(newObj);
newObj.strip();
newObj.build();

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: reproject question
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 08:06:07 am »
Might be correct because the assumed z-coordinate of 1 is very close to the viewer so that the space that this plane covers is pretty small and it might look like as if it's all located in the center. You might want to print out the actual coordinates to see if something changes. You might as well try the method without ...WS, use a higher z-value than 1 to offset the object and do the tranformation into world space yourself. Something like:

Code: [Select]
SimpleVector p = reproject2D3D(camera, buffer, x, y, 20f);
p.matMul(camera.backMatrix.invert3x3());
obj.setOrigin(p);

Offline Disastorm

• long
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 09:20:39 pm »
Ok thanks I got it working although it still seemed like there was some y offset that i had to subtract, but after that, it works now.

Offline Disastorm

• long
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2011, 11:30:44 pm »