Author Topic: Bone length  (Read 1237 times)

Offline ani.tumanyan

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Bone length
« on: April 03, 2013, 11:30:16 pm »
Hi raft,

Is there a way to get the length of different bones in Bones API?


Ani

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Bone length
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 07:17:09 am »
have a look at chase's skeleton helper. it has a getBoneDirection method, which you can modify and use. ie: do not normalize the result vector and calculate length of it.

Offline ani.tumanyan

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Bone length
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 09:35:12 pm »
Thanks raft so much! This is wonderful :).

Another question popped up. When I'm galling getTranslation() function, in which units are those numbers? Are they meters, centimeters or even worse pixels?

Thanks again for your help!

Offline raft

  • Moderator
  • quad
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aptalkarga.com
Re: Bone length
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 10:00:09 pm »
Another question popped up. When I'm galling getTranslation() function, in which units are those numbers? Are they meters, centimeters or even worse pixels
neither one. they are in world units. that means they are in whatever size they are modelled in 3d editor