Author Topic: new to JAVA and JPCT - how to create a 3d model viewer?  (Read 5917 times)

Offline 3DLover

• byte
    • View Profile
new to JAVA and JPCT - how to create a 3d model viewer?
« on: May 13, 2015, 11:54:37 am »
Hi guys,
I am new to JAVA but have done programming and coding in VB and c#.
I want to create a simple windows-based application for loading, viewing and rotating 3d models with textures.
How should I do that using JPCT?
I have downloaded and installed JDK and Netbeans. how should I start? the Netbeans environment is very different from VB environment. moreover the JPCT wiki has some explanations that I don't understand. for example:

"The 3D engine itself is one jar only (jpct.jar). It can be found in the distribution's lib-directory. Just include that jar into your classpath and you are ready to compile and/or run jPCT applications."
what is classpath?

please give me a clue to start.
Many thanks
Reza

Offline EgonOlsen

• Administrator
  • quad
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jpct.net
Re: new to JAVA and JPCT - how to create a 3d model viewer?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 01:27:24 pm »
classpath is the path in which the VM is looking for classes that your project is using. Depending on the IDE, this might be part of a setting called build path or similar. A jar is bascially a zipped folder that contains class files. By adding a jar to the class path you are basically adding this zipped folder as a source for compiled classes.
Anyway, these are Java basics and I don't think that this forum is the right place to cover them in detail.

Offline 3DLover

• byte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2015, 01:57:19 pm »
Dear EgonOlsen,

You are right, what I asked was JAVA basics and I started learning JAVA right now. I will learn the JAVA basics and then I will come back here for question about JPCT. now my specific questions are: